Super Falcons: Atlanta routs Packers 44-21 for NFC title (Yahoo Sports)

Atlanta Falcons players celebrate after the NFL football NFC championship game against the Green Bay Packers Sunday, Jan. 22, 2017, in Atlanta. The Falcons won 44-21 to advance to Super Bowl LI. (AP Photo/David J. Phillip)

Matt Ryan and Julio Jones teamed up for a dominant playoff performance, and the Atlanta Falcons ignored all those ghosts from the last half-century. Ryan threw for 392 yards and four touchdowns in another MVP-worthy showing, while Jones shook off a toe injury to haul in nine catches for 180 yards and two scores, leading the Falcons to a 44-21 blowout of the storied Green Bay Packers in the NFC championship Sunday. Atlanta (13-5) will face either New England or Pittsburgh in the Feb. 5 title game in Houston.

Powered by WPeMatico

Prank against Steelers suspected in early hotel fire alarm (Yahoo Sports)

Pittsburgh Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger and teammates practice Friday, Jan. 20, 2017, in Pittsburgh. The Steelers meet the New England Patriots for the NFL football AFC championship Sunday in Foxborough, Mass. (Matt Freed/Pittsburgh Post-Gazette via AP)

A man has been arrested and charged with setting off an early-morning fire alarm at a Boston hotel that roused the visiting Pittsburgh Steelers ahead of their playoff with the New England Patriots. Massachusetts State Police spokesman Dave Procopio says Pittsburgh’s team was staying at the Logan Airport Hilton hotel when a fire alarm went off at about 3:40 a.m. Sunday. Procopio says evidence suggests the pulled alarm was meant as a prank against the Steelers.

Powered by WPeMatico

Julio Jones And The Falcons Ran All Over The Packers

After the Falcons scored a touchdown on their opening drive, the Packers responded by missing a field goal, and things didn’t change so much from there. The 24-0 lead the Falcons took into the locker room was the largest deficit that Aaron Rodgers has ever faced at halftime. An already struggling defense was hurt more…

Read more…

Powered by WPeMatico

Fitzgerald, Manning, Olsen are NFL Man of Year finalists (Yahoo Sports)

Larry Fitzgerald, Eli Manning and Greg Olsen have been chosen as finalists for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award that recognizes an athlete’s contribution to the sport and to society. The winner among the Arizona Cardinals wide receiver, New York Giants quarterback and Carolina Panthers tight end will be announced on Feb. 4, the night before the Super Bowl, at NFL Honors in Houston. The Associated Press individual NFL awards also will be handed out then, on the eve of the Super Bowl.

Powered by WPeMatico